# Renamed Govt. Schemes, Cities, Airports & Railway Stations

### List of Renamed Government Schemes

Original Name:	New Name:
Basic Savings Bank Deposit Account	Jan Dhan Yojana
National Girl Child Day Program	Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao Yojana
Nirmal Bharat Abhiyan	Swachh Bharat Mission
Rajiv Awas Yojana	Sardar Patel National Mission for Urban Housing
Indira Awaas Yojana	Pradhan Mantri Gramin Awaas Yojana
Swavalamban Yojana	Atal Pension Yojana
Rajiv Grameen Vidyutikaran Yojana	Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gram Jyoti Yojana
Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission	Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation
National Project on Management of Soil Health and Fertility	Soil Health Card scheme
Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana	Paramparagat Krishi Vikas Yojana
Direct Benefits Transfer for LPG	PAHAL
Jan Aushadhi scheme	Pradhan Mantri Jan Aushadhi Yojana
National Manufacturing Policy	Make In India
National e-governance Plan	Digital India
National Skill Development Programme	Skill India
Universal Immunisation Programme	Mission Indradhanush
National Rural Livelihood Mission	Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Grameen Kaushalya Yojana
National Optic Fibre Network	Bharat Net

### List of Renamed Cities

Old Name of City	New Name of City	Name of the State	Changed Since
Jubbulpore	Jabalpur	Madhya Pradesh	1947
Cawnpore	Kanpur	Uttar Pradesh	1948
Simla	Shimla	Himachal Pradesh	1948
Tanjore	Thanjavur	Tamil Nadu	1948
Calicut	Kozhikode	Kerala	1949
Benares	Varanasi	Uttar Pradesh	1956
Allepey	Alappuzha	Kerala	1957
Panjim	Panaji	Goa	1961
Trichinapoly	Tiruchirapalli	Tamil Nadu	1971
Baroda	Vadodara	Gujarat	1974
Poona	Pune	Maharashtra	1978
Gauhati	Guwahati	Assam	1983
Waltair	Vishakhapatnam	Andhra Pradesh	1987
Trivandrum	Thiruvananthapuram	Kerala	1991
Bombay	Mumbai	Maharashtra	1996
Madras	Chennai	Tamil Nadu	1996
Cochin	Kochi	Kerala	1996
Calcutta	Kolkata	West Bengal	2001
Pondicherry	Puducherry	Union Territory	2006
Bangalore	Bengaluru	Karnataka	2006
Belgaum	Belagavi	Karnataka	2014
Mysore	Mysuru	Karnataka	2014
Mangalore	Mangaluru	Karnataka	2014
Trichur	Thrissur	Kerala	2014
Tumkur	Tumakaru	Karnataka	2014
Hubali	Hubbali	Karnataka	2014
Bellary	Ballari	Karnataka	2014

Gulbarga	Kalaburagi	Karnataka	2014
Bijapur	Vijapura	Karnataka	2014
Gurgaon	Gurugram	Haryana	2016
Mewat	Nuh	Haryana	2016
Allahabad	Prayagraj	Uttar Pradesh	2018
New Raipur	Atal Nagar	Chattisgarh	2018
Faizabad	Ayodhya	Uttar Pradesh	2018
Arikkod	Areekode	Malappuram, Kerala	2019
Laxman Garh	Adawala	Rajasamand, Rajasthan	2019
Landgewadi	Narsinhagaon	Sangali, Maharashtra	2019
Samphur	Sanphure	Kiphire, Nagaland	2019
Pindari	PanduPindara	Jind, Haryana	2019
Ismailpur	Pichanwa Khurd	Jhunjhunu, Rajasthan	2019
Miyon Ka Bara	Maheshnagar	Barmer, Rajasthan	2019
Narpara	Narpura	Jalore, Rajasthan	2019
Kalloor Vadakkum Muri	Kadukutty	Trichur, Kerala	2019
Nagar Untari	Shri Banshidhar Nagar	Jharkhand	2019
Nakti	Nayanpur	Satna, Madhya Pradesh	2019
Pallikkara II	Kottikulam	Kasaragod, Kerala	2019
Rasuiya Bhatan	Radheynagar	Chhatarpur, Madhya Pradesh	2019
Birshingpur Pali	Maa Birasini Dham	Umaria, Madhya Pradesh	2019
Todi Kheri	Sarna Kheri	Jind, Haryana	2019
Nagewadi	Nagnathnagar	Sangli, Maharashtra	2019
Khizrabad	Pratap Nagar	Yamunanagar, Haryana	2019

## List of Renamed Railway Stations

Old Name of Railway Station	New Name	Name of State	Changed Since
Bangalore City	Krantivira Sangolli Rayanna	Karnataka	2015
Oshiwara	Ram Mandir	Maharashtra	2016
Elphinstone Road	Prabha Devi	Maharashtra	2016
Mughalsarai station	Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Junction	Uttar Pradesh	2018
Manduadih	Banaras Railway Station	Uttar Pradesh	2018
Robertsganj railway station	Sonbhadra	Uttar Pradesh	2019
Gulbarga railway station	Kalaburagi	Karnataka	2019
Panki railway station	Panki Dham	Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh	2019
Mughal Sarai railway station	Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyaya junction	Uttar Pradesh	2019
Tilda railway station	Tilda-Neora	Raipur, Chhattisgarh	2019

### List of Renamed Airports

Old Name of Airport	New Name	Location	Changed Since
Bangalore International Airport (BIA)	Bengaluru Nadaprabhu Kempegowda International Airport.	Bengaluru, Karnataka	2013
Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport	Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport (CSMIA)	Mumbai, Maharashtra	2016
Indian Air Force Airport, Gorakhpur	Mahayogi Gorakhnath Airport	Gorakhpur, U.P.	2017
Indian Air Force Airport, Agra	Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Airport	Agra, U.P.	2017
Agartala Airport	Maharaja Bir Bikram Manikya Kishore Airport	Tripura, Agartala	2018

#### **Others:**

Some of the approved name change proposals are:

- Rajahmundry as Rajamahendravaram in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh
- Outer Wheeler as APJ Abdul Kalam Island, situated in Bhadrak district of Odisha
- Arikkod as Areekode in Malappura district of Kerala
- **Pindari** as **Pandu-Pindara** in **Jind district of Haryana**
- Samphur as Sanphure in Kiphire district of Nagaland.

Other renaming proposals approved by the ministry include

- Landgewadi to Narsinhagaon in Sangali district of Maharashtra
- o Garhi Sampla as Ch. Sir Chhotu Ram Nagar in Rohtak district of Haryana
- Khatu Kalan village as Bari Khatu in Nagour district of Rajasthan
- Mihgawan Chhakka and Mihgawan Tilia as Mihgawan Sarkar and Mihgawan Ghat respectively in Panna district of Madhya Pradesh
- Shukratal Khadar as Sukhtirth Khadar and Shukratal Bangar as Sukhtirth Bangar in Muzaffarnagar district in Uttar Pradesh.
- Approval was also given to add the word "Maharaj" in Mumbai's iconic Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus. It is now known as Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus.

#### Things to Remember

- In the past, we also saw the iconic Connaught Place of New Delhi getting its name changed to Rajiv Chowk. and the
- Port Blair Airport of the Andaman & Nicobar Islands changing to Veer Savarkar International Airport.
- o New Delhi's Aurangzeb Road was changed to "Dr. A P J Abdul Kalam Road"
- Race Course Road got changed to "Lok Kalyan Marg".
- Gurgaon of the National Capital Region got changed to "Gurugram".
- India's Planning Commission became "NITI Aayog". 'NITI' is an acronym for "National Institution for Transforming India".